Making use of turkey

As you know Canada has Thanksgiving in October. So of course I had a ton of turkey to play with. As I am not a fan of the dark meat most days I didn’t eat the left over dark meat by itself. What I did do was use a ton of left overs, from left over turkey meat to left over spinach salad, oranges and even apples. The fun thing is you can toss a ton of things into a goulash and call it dinner. Left over veggies, meat, fruit and past can become something quite tasty and use up your leftovers nicely. Yeah I know most people today just toss that left over pasta or peas but in a world in crisis isn’t it better to use up what you have first?

What I did was take about two or three cups of shredded precooked dark turkey meat and put it in a large skillet with a thin coating of olive oil, sprinkled on some salt and pepper and let it heat up while I rummaged through the refrigerator.

then I tossed in what worked out to a cup of raw spinach, half a tomato, a quarter of a cucumber, a quarter of a bell pepper, half an apple and two cups of turkey stock. Now remember I made the stock by simply boiling the turkey carcass with spices. Always boil up your bones for broth. It is cheaper than buying the box or can at the store and much healthier because you are only salting to taste here.

I let it all simmer for a bit before adding in Worcestershire sauce and squeezing a orange slice into the mix. And then I tossed in three cups of left over noodles from previous dinner. Let it all simmer on low for fifteen minutes and well you have a tasty meal you can feed your meat eaters.

Yes I know a lot of you are thinking apple and orange? Yup. I have found when dealing with a salty dish adding in the bright pop of fruit sweet can cut the salt or bitter in a dish and make it very yummy.

About suteko

Writer, poet, mother and wife. I can be found all over the net. I have a paperback from JustFiction! short stories. novels and novellas on Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, ITunes and other retailers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment